beginners problems-help!

• shazzie
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
19 years 4 months ago #7642 by shazzie
beginners problems-help! was created by shazzie
Hey guys I am a TOTAL beginner so I have a stupid question to ask.I have the meade etx70 scope and am trying to get used to it. :oops: I can use the 25mm eyepiece easily and the 12mm but when I use the 4mm I see nothing.I can locate the comet,Saturn etc easily but trying to get closer images seems to be impossible-everything is tiny!I know its me-in my ignorance I'm doing something wrong-when I use the 12mm and 4mm things look even further away.Can someone help.Also I dont seem mto be able to fugure out how to use the 3xbarlow lens-do you attach it by itself or with another eyepiece-either way it doesnt seem to slot in properly.I know these are stupid questions but I'd really appreciate someone's advice if they had the patience :? Thanks a mil
Shazzie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 years 4 months ago #7643 by Seanie_Morris
Replied by Seanie_Morris on topic Re: beginners problems-help!
Happy New Year Shazzie!

Your best bet is to take the time to read through th threads in the Observing Equipment section about the ETX-70, or the special forum Albert set up in General section here . There is loads of Q&A, hints and suggestions there.

Basically, to answer one or 2 of your questions:

The Barlow: you put your eyepiece into the Barlow, and this 2-piece is now a new eyepiece, which you put into your focuser.

Magnification: The smaller diameter eyepieces offer higher magnification, which, in smaller telescopes, is not always as good as it sound. I really would not bother with the 4mm at all really!

Have fun with your scope! And none of your questions are stupid!

:wink:

Seanie.

Midlands Astronomy Club.
Radio Presenter (Midlands 103), Space Enthusiast, Astronomy Outreach Co-ordinator.
Former IFAS Chairperson and Secretary.

More