• shazzie
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
19 years 5 months ago #6383 by shazzie
eyepieces was created by shazzie
Hey guys,
Shazzie again.I am a newbie to all this so this may sound like a stupid question :oops: but I have seen some of you talking about 3xBarlow lens-what exactly do these do,how much do they cost and where do you get them?Just wondering would they be a useful addition to th eyepieces supplied with the ETX-70 or can ye sucggest other eyepieces that might be needed.
Thanks again
Shazzie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 years 5 months ago #6384 by lionsden
Replied by lionsden on topic Re: eyepieces
Hi Shazzie,

If you bought your ETX70 in Lidl, then you should already have a 3x Barlow lens as one came with it, or at least, there was one in mine.
I'm new to this too, at least with a telescope. I've been at this about a year but have been using binoculars up till now. I don't know how good or bad the supplied 3x barlow is as I have, a) nothing to compare it to, and b) I haven't used it yet anyway! as for what it does, it does exactly what it says on the tin - it magnifies your view by 3. for obvious reasons, I can't/won't recommend anything, but am interested in what the more knowledgeable and esteemed members have to say.

Best of luck.

Leo @ Lionsden
Perhap because light travels faster than sound, some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

• shazzie
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
19 years 5 months ago #6385 by shazzie
Replied by shazzie on topic Re: eyepieces
That will tell you how new I am I couldnt see any mention of a barlow lens just the magnification of the three eyepieces ie 25mm etc :oops: oh well I'll learn!

More
19 years 5 months ago #6386 by albertw
Replied by albertw on topic Re: eyepieces
You should have the 3x barlow in the box from lidl. It is in a small Meade labelled box, and looks a bit like another eyepiece.