K-Tec

is my scope & eye pieces any good???

• lennonj
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
18 years 5 months ago #19217 by lennonj
ok here it goes....I live in ballymun and im able to set my scope up on the top of the 8 story building. The last couple of weeks ive had clear skies and tried my best to use it.

Telescope spec: Model, Newtonian 6", Focal length 1400mm, diam 150mm
eye pieces: PL25mm, PL6.5mm & an erecting eyepicce 1.5x.....

Im new to this so i have no idea whats good or bad. With what i have should i be able to see things like the rings of saturn or any near planets in our solor system??

Any feed back would be great...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 years 5 months ago #19218 by keithke
Replied by keithke on topic Re: is my scope & eye pieces any good???
Hi,
You will be able to see the rings of Saturn and maybe the cassini division. You should also see the cloud bands on Jupiter and it's 4 main moons. Have a look south west just before sunset and you will see venus although you won't see any details but that has nothing to do with the size of the scope you have. It will just be a bright shiny disc but it is a cresent at the moment I think so you should see that. Have a look at this site:

skyandtelescope.com/observing/skychart/article_1220_1.asp

Just put in your time and location details etc and it will give you a map of the sky so you can plan your observing.

Hope this helps,
Keith

More
18 years 5 months ago #19219 by jeyjey
Most things won't look like the pictures in the magazines through a telescope (although the planets will look the closest).

To get a good idea of what things will look like, check out the drawings at www.belmontnc.4dw.net/

You'll also want to travel to a darker site from time to time. Dublin has pretty woefull light pollution.

-- Jeff.

Nikon 18x70s / UA Millennium                              Colorado: