K-Tec

advice needed

More
18 years 8 months ago #14880 by novae
advice needed was created by novae
hi everyone,
im a beginner astronomer and am curently trying to get a telescope (which is really confusing :? ) and need advice . i was thinking of getting a skywatcher explorer 130m yet ive heard its hard to get precise polar inlinement (or what ever its called) so would be difficult for astrophotography, so does any one have any ideas for a good beginners telescope (nothing to dear).

clear skies!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 years 8 months ago #14881 by Neill
Replied by Neill on topic Telescopes
Hello Novae,

Welcome to the world of astronomy. I recently upgraded and am looking to sell my beginners scope. Whats your budget? Check it out at www.nancylaw.co.uk/telescope.htm , the price is definitely negotiatable.
Its a lovely scope with a good steady base and excellent views of the planets and deep sky objects.

Neill

• DaveGrennan
  • IFAS Astronomer of the Year 2010
  • IFAS Astronomer of the Year 2010
More
18 years 8 months ago #14882 by DaveGrennan
Replied by DaveGrennan on topic Re: advice needed
Hi,

Welcome to thw best hobby in the world!

My first advice to you would be to learn the ropes before getting too far ahead and worrying about things like astrophotography. When you get that far you will realise there id a hell of alot more to astrophotography than just polar alignment!

Any equatorial scope can be polar aligned properly with experience. I wouldnt imaging the SW130 is any more problematic than any other scope in that class.