• donalmcnamara
  • Topic Author
  • Main Sequence
  • Main Sequence
More
14 years 5 months ago #82316 by donalmcnamara
Astroplanner was created by donalmcnamara
Hi folks.
Anyone here using the AstroPlanner software package?
I came across it last week on the Vixen_Sphinx user group where the developer, Paul Rodman was looking for users to Beta test his interface to Sphinx mount. Tried this bit over the week end and it works a treat. I am now looking at the rest of the package and I am impressed so far with what it does.
It's both a Windows/MAC package for planning and recording observations.
The test version can be found at www.astroplanner.net/alphabeta/
Donal

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 4 months ago #82391 by jeyjey
Replied by jeyjey on topic Re:Astroplanner
Donal --

Yes, I've been using AstroPlanner for several years now. The V2 beta is solid enough that I switched over to using it "for real" earlier this year.

I've also written some scripts for it if you're interested. One of them, for instance, copies an observation from AstroPlanner to the clipboard in a format that I can just paste it into this window, like so:

Pegasus I NGC7619 11/14/2009 22:30 UT; Pickering 6, NELM 5, SQM 20.3
400mm Mak-Cass @ 110X

NGC7619 and 7626 immediately obvious, with semi-stellar cores and circular halos. 7623 picked out next: it appeared stellar at 110X but showed a very diffuse halo at 150X and (more clearly) at 235X.

On the periphery, 7631 was relatively easy; careful study at 235X showed some elongation ENE-WSW. No core seen. 7611 a bit more difficult; roughly circular with a semi-stellar core. 7612 was of moderate difficulty; circular with a stellar core.

Cheers,
-- Jeff.

Nikon 18x70s / UA Millennium                              Colorado:
Solarscope SF70 / TV Pronto / AP400QMD             Coronado SolarMax40 DS / Bogen 055+3130
APM MC1610 / Tak FC-125 / AP1200GTO               Tak Mewlon 250 / AP600EGTO

• donalmcnamara