First attempt at Saturn

• Bill_H
  • Topic Author
  • Main Sequence
  • Main Sequence
More
19 years 3 months ago #8367 by Bill_H
First attempt at Saturn was created by Bill_H
Hi all, this is my first attempt with the DSI. It's pretty cr*p, so can anyone help me improve? setting up the LX90 = 10 mins. Finding saturn = 5 mins. Focusing = 3 hrs. Trying to open the picture = 1 hr, the laptop refused to open it. transfering it to PC 10 mins, DSI processor refused to open it on the PC as well and I had to open it in MS viewer. Would the picture have been sharper with more detail if the moon hadn't been so close to it? If not then where am I going wrong? It took hours to get this and it's very dissapointing, but maybe I'm expecting too much!

www.irishastronomy.org/user_resources/fi...06450577-saturn2.jpg

Any advice would be gratefully recieved.
Thanks,
Bill H.

Astronomers do it with the lights off.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 years 3 months ago #8370 by dave_lillis
Replied by dave_lillis on topic Re: First attempt at Saturn
Bill,
Dont be so disheartened, getting good image takes a fair amount of experiance and patience and alot of trial and error at first.
Its not as bad an image as you think, the main issue with it is that its over exposed, next time try and reduce the brightness as you're taking the image.
The focus is slightly out also, but you can see that the outer rings are slightly darker then the inner rings, as they should be.

I dont have the DSI, I use the philips toucam pro, so I cant say anything specifiec about the DSI, but isnt this a deep sky camera, for faint objects.

The moon should have no effect on planets, faint objects yes, but not this.
If you're using a laptop screen, be aware that the brightness can look perfect on it and as soon as you run it on your desktop (CRT) monitor, the image can look alot worse.
The image size is about right, you'll need to use a barlow to make it bigger.