K-Tec

Very confused wet-darkroom photographer

• Bill_H
  • Topic Author
  • Main Sequence
  • Main Sequence
More
19 years 2 months ago #9255 by Bill_H
I really need help with my digital confusion :? I have many years experience in a wet darkroom, a few years ago I quite happily and smoothly made the transition to digital photography - Sheer bliss. But now I'm extremely confused with the digital astro-photography. I at last managed to get a chance to photograph Saturn again tonight, but :!: :!: This is the result:

www.irishastronomy.org/user_resources/fi...08768700-Saturn7.jpg

According to the DSI software, I at last managed to take 200 frames, the combine box was ticked. I don't see any difference between this picture and the one I managed to get a few nights ago:

www.irishastronomy.org/user_resources/fi...08768748-Saturn6.jpg

The second picture was only 17 frames and exposure was 1.0, tonights picture was 200 frames and the exposure was 0.1200, the other strange thing is tonights picture amounts to 6 Kb while the other amounts to 6.50 Kb. I had hoped that by reducing exposure, I would have put a little more detail in Saturn, but they look both the same. The pictures are in mono as I can never get rid of the purple colour which makes Saturn look rediculous. I now have 7 pictures of Saturn all taken under different circumstances and exposure, some are only 1 or 2 frames but not a bit of difference between them.
Any advice anyone?

Bill H.

Astronomers do it with the lights off.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 years 2 months ago #9259 by dmcdona
Replied by dmcdona on topic Re: Very confused wet-darkroom photographer
Hi Bill - I feel your pain...