• whitephantom
  • Topic Author
  • Nebula
  • Nebula
More
16 years 6 months ago #54250 by whitephantom
First telescope for my 6yr old son? was created by whitephantom
Hi,

Complete newbie here with a space-mad 6 year old. He has his heart set on getting a telescope from Santa, so I'm wondering where do I start?

He's seen on in Smyths for Eur120 that he's taken a shine to ( www.smyths.ie/Shop_Product_Detail.aspx?pcode=C06695 ) but I've no idea if it's good, mediocre or rubbish.

I'd love some advice on what to get for him.

Also, we're living in Wexford - any astromony clubs for kids in the area?

Many thanks,
J.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 6 months ago #54258 by voyager
Replied by voyager on topic Re: First telescope for my 6yr old son?
Hi,

You definitely don't want to give him/her a telescope from a toy shop. They are generally so poor that they will kill any interest the child has. A good rule of thumb is that any telescope advertised on the basis of high magnification is pure rubbish.

I was unfortunate enough in my youth to get one of these and it almost killed my interest in Astronomy. They are so poor you can really only see the moon with them and the frustration they cause is endless. Myself and my father spent hours trying to see anything interesting and when we failed the telescope was packed away to gather dust. A waste of my parents money and a real dent to my enthusiasm.

So, what can you get your space-mad six year old to help foster their interest in Astronomy, I'd suggest three things that together should not cost more than the telescope you mentioned:

1) A good pair of 10x50mm binoculars
2) A good beginners astronomy book dedicated to teaching the sky and what you can see with binoculars (which is a lot)
3) A subscription to an astronomy magazine.