K-Tec

Aligning a telescope to polar axis, RA,Dec etc etc etc.

• pj30something
  • Topic Author
  • Super Giant
  • Super Giant
More
16 years 4 months ago #56514 by pj30something
I'm new to the world of telescopes. I have been happily casually stargazing for the last 20+yrs with a pair of 7X50 bins. In the destructions manual that came with my telescope it talks about aligning this that and the other. It's pretty scarey stuff to a newbie (whose only other telescope had none of the fancy smancey stuff that are standard today).When i was a kid my telescope had a lens on one end and a viewfinder on the other end..........held together with a nice blue tube. The simple things in life are the best.

So here's my question:

Do i REALLY (i mean REALLY) need to worry about aligning things up to polar axis,scopefinder configuration etc etc when all i want to do is point my scope at things in the skies and look at them?

I know the skies pretty well at this stage and know where to find all of the BIG BOYS (and girls). Cant i just raise and lower the scope and move left to right until i find what im looking for (and finding other things on my travels across the big black yonder.

Worrying about all the dials and stuff on the scope (if they are set up right) is new to me. Surely if i can find and view what i want to........the scope must be set up correctly.

I have a Celestron 90EQ.

Paul C
My next scope is going to be a Vixen VMC200L Catadioptric OTA

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 4 months ago #56516 by XULYKS
I'm only getting to grips with it myself :)

But as far as I've gathered, the main reason for Polar alignment is so when you're viewing, be it a star, planet, etc., it is far easier to follow if you have the telescope aligned. Rather than adjusting several different knobs at once just to keep track of whatever it is you're looking at, you have to do far less adjusting :)