Just a heads up for complete newbies

• pj30something
  • Topic Author
  • Super Giant
  • Super Giant
More
16 years 3 months ago #59283 by pj30something
Just a heads up for complete newbies was created by pj30something
Dont rush to observe things with the smaller size eyepieces such as 5mm,10mm etc. You will get to see it bigger but it wont look as good as say when you observe with a 20mm,32mm eyepiece.

Orions Nebula for example.......looks a lot better with a 20mm eyepiece then it does with a 10mm eyepiece because you can see empty space around it. It has a more majestic look to it.

So give the higher numbered eyepieces a go first.

Paul C
My next scope is going to be a Vixen VMC200L Catadioptric OTA

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 3 months ago #59286 by Jovian79
Replied by Jovian79 on topic Re: Just a heads up for complete newbies
thanks pj30something - something that i read in the manual that came with my scope but good and helpful information nonetheless.

I havent had a chance to see the Orion Nebula yet believe it or not. I was planning to go out later tonight (the telescope is outside as we speak) but it seems to be getting a bit cloudy out there. It was very clear not an hour ago.

Paul

• pj30something
  • Topic Author
  • Super Giant
  • Super Giant
More
16 years 3 months ago #59289 by pj30something
Replied by pj30something on topic Re: Just a heads up for complete newbies
Perfect observing weather here. Not a single cloud in the sky. I was observing Orion neb earlier and i decided that yes indeed i do prefer it in the 20mm EP rather then the 10mm.

Other may disagree but i just wanted to share it with people.

Paul C

More
16 years 3 months ago #59299 by Euronymous
Replied by Euronymous on topic Re: Just a heads up for complete newbies
Great weather here too, just a rain cloud passing over at the moment so had to come in, but it's probably gone now already.