• Nephin
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
14 years 8 months ago #80486 by Nephin
Star pointer finderscope was created by Nephin
Hi all

I have a Celestron Astromaster 90EQ. I have a problem with the star pointer finderscope which is basically a red dot finder. The problem I'm having is that the light on the finderscope is too bright and I cannot see anything through it. There is no way to adjust the brightness of the led light. Has anybody had a similar problem? Would I be better off buying a better finderscope?

Thanks.
Pat.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 8 months ago #80490 by Thargor
Replied by Thargor on topic Re:Star pointer finderscope
I had the exact same problem with the same scope, theres nothing you can do with that finder really. I took the same battery from the remote for my media centre because it was nearly dead and put it in, that made the light less bright but it was only a slight improvement. The problem with that little round Astromaster finder is that it doesnt make you look in the same place twice, your head could be anywhere in an area the size of a dinnerplate behind it and you'd still think you were looking straight through, also the fact that the adjustment knobs for lining it up with the scope barely do anything means its completely useless.

I got a finder like this from Ebay for around a tenner:

And it made a huge difference. Attaching it was hard though because theres no screwholes or anything, I had to wedge it in between the 2 grooves left after unscrewing the original finder with some double-sided tape. Id did make using the scope way more enjoyable before I sold it and upgraded. The finder on them is so bad that an empty toilet paper tube glued to the side of the scope would have been an improvement as long as it was straight though :lol:

• Nephin
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
14 years 8 months ago #80492 by Nephin