Advice on binoculars

• joxer66
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
16 years 2 months ago #63337 by joxer66
Advice on binoculars was created by joxer66
hi guys - i'm a newbie to the whole Astronomical scene and have been using my binoculars to look upwards. whilst the moon looks grand and pin sharp when i get the focus right i'm longing for a better view of the stars

i'm not in the market for a scope just yet (apart from the cost i havent a notion about dobs, refractors collimation etc etc) but would like to get a more powerful st of binoculars - what should i be looking for - mine are 110mmX1000mm

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 2 months ago #63340 by voyager
Replied by voyager on topic Re: Advice on binoculars

hi guys - i'm a newbie to the whole Astronomical scene and have been using my binoculars to look upwards. whilst the moon looks grand and pin sharp when i get the focus right i'm longing for a better view of the stars

i'm not in the market for a scope just yet (apart from the cost i havent a notion about dobs, refractors collimation etc etc) but would like to get a more powerful st of binoculars - what should i be looking for - mine are 110mmX1000mm

Hi Joxer,

Those number don't look right to me. There's no way your binoculars have a 1m diameter lenses!

Also, the first number shouldn't be in mm, it should be the magnification, again, 110 is not possible.

If you could find out the actual specs of the binos then we could advise on a good 'next step'.

Regards,

Bart.

My Home Page - www.bartbusschots.ie

More
16 years 2 months ago #63343 by Keith g
Replied by Keith g on topic Re:
Howya Joxer, what binoculars do you have? I assume that you can hand hold them to give you good views right? If you want to get a 'bigger' pair of binoculars, Celstron's 15x70,mm Skymasters are quite good at about €130 or so, but even with these, a very good stable tripod mount can go a very long way.